Puyallup Tribal Council Welcomes Re-Elected Members, Selects Leadership

Puyallup Tribal Council
L-R: Seated – Council Member Fred Dillon; Chairman Bill Sterud; and Council Member James Rideout. L-R: Standing – Council Members Anna Bean and Monica Miller; Vice Chairwoman Sylvia Miller; and Councilwoman Annette Bryan.

TACOMA, WA – Bill Sterud and Annette Bryan took the oath of office for Puyallup Tribal Council, beginning three-year terms as part of the tribe’s seven-person governing body.

The ceremony took place outdoors at the entrance to the Emerald Queen Casino, which opened in 2020. Vice Chairwoman Sylvia Miller led the event, with tribal artist Anthony Duenas’ 174.5-foot-long by 30-foot-high bone games mural as the backdrop.

Puyallup Councilwoman Bryan
Councilwoman Bryan is sworn in by Vice Chairwoman Miller.
Vice Chairwoman Miller & Chairman Sterud
Vice Chairwoman Miller and Chairman Sterud

Chairman Sterud and Councilwoman Bryan won re-election in the general election on June 4. Councilwoman Bryan, who was first elected in 2016, is now serving her third term. Chairman Sterud first joined the Tribal Council in 1978 and has served many times in the Chair and Vice Chair offices.

The ceremony included songs and dances, remarks by each of the seven Tribal Council Members and prayers by Culture Director Connie McCloud.

In the Tribal Council’s first meeting following the swearing-in, Council Members voted to reappoint Chairman Sterud and Vice Chairwoman Miller to their offices for the coming year.

The Puyallup Tribal Council consists of Chairman Bill Sterud, Vice Chairwoman Sylvia Miller, and Council Members Annette Bryan, James Rideout, Anna Bean, Monica Miller and Fred Dillon.