New Mexico Tribal Leaders, Gov. Lujan Grisham Meet To Discuss Shared Priorities

SANTA FE, NM – Leaders from New Mexico’s 23 Tribal Nations recently met with Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham and her administration for the annual State-Tribal Leaders Summit. State and tribal representatives from across the state joined the virtual summit to discuss and address the most urgent issues affecting New Mexico’s Tribal Nations.

The annual summit was established in 2009 under the State Tribal Collaboration Act to ensure that tribal priorities guide state-level policymaking and funding priorities. The New Mexico Indian Affairs Department convened the event with the goal of strengthening relationships between sovereign tribal governments and the State of New Mexico.

“Although we continue to make important progress together, we all know we still have a long way to go,” said Governor Lujan Grisham. “My administration remains committed to continuing to build on investments made in New Mexico’s tribal communities and working to strengthen communication, collaboration, and cooperation with our 23 tribal leaders. I look forward to continuing our work. Together, we can solve 21st century problems as well as those that have lingered for generations.”

“Today’s summit provides our state and tribal leaders the opportunity to engage in meaningful dialogue and address important topics of concern,” said Cabinet Secretary Lynn Trujillo. “The Indian Affairs Department remains committed to building on our collaborative relationships with our tribal leaders, addressing areas of mutual concern and acting in the best interest of our tribal communities.”

Topics of discussion at this year’s summit included:

  • Indian water rights updates and plans moving forward
  • State infrastructure investments
  • 2022 legislative priorities
  • The current state of the pandemic
  • The final report and recommendations from the Inaugural Indigenous Youth Council

Governor Lujan Grisham reemphasized her commitment to honor and enhance the government-to-government relationship with New Mexico’s 23 sovereign nations.