Indian Affairs Announces Passage of National Native American Heritage Month Resolution

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, and U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Vice Chairman of the Committee, led passage of a Senate resolution recognizing November 2023 as National Native American Heritage Month.

“In November, we celebrate Native American Heritage Month to recognize American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian peoples and their diverse cultures, achievements, and contributions to the United States,” said Chairman Schatz. “I am honored to lead this year’s Senate resolution with Vice Chairman Murkowski and remain committed to upholding the federal trust responsibility and strengthening self-determination for Native communities across the country.”

“This November we continue to honor and recognize the many contributions that Native people have made to the United States through the passage of this bipartisan Senate Resolution, which recognizes our commitment and responsibility to all American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian people. I am honored to co-lead this resolution with Chairman Schatz and thank all of my colleagues who joined in support,” said Vice Chairman Murkowski.

Senators who joined the resolution as original co-sponsors include: Baldwin (D-WI), Bennet (D-CO), Blumenthal (D-CT), Cantwell (D-WW), Collins (R-ME), Cortez Masto (D-NV), Cramer (R-ND), Crapo (R-ID), Daines (R-MT), Duckworth (D-IL), Durbin (D-IL), Fetterman (D-PA), Fischer (R-NE), Heinrich (D-NM), Hickenlooper (D-CO), Hirono (D-HI), Hoeven (R-ND), Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Kaine (D-VA), King (I-ME), Klobuchar (D-MN), Lankford (R-OK), Luján (D-NM), Lummis (R-WY), Marshall (R-KS), Menendez (D-NJ), Merkley (D-OR), Moran (R-KS), Mullin (R-OK), Murray (D-WA), Padilla (D-CA), Risch (R-ID), Rosen (D-NV), Rounds (R-SD), Schumer (D-NY), Shaheen (D-NH), Sinema (I-AZ), Sullivan (R-AK), Tester (D-MT), Warren (D-MA), Wicker (R-MS), and Wyden (D-OR).