Cherokee Nation Receives Environmental Excellence Award

Cherokee Nation EV charging station

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK — The Cherokee Nation was recognized for having one of the top clean energy programs in the state during the Keep Oklahoma Beautiful 2023 Environmental Excellency Celebration. The Cherokee Nation received an Environmental Excellence Award in the Tribal Government Programs category for the tribe’s work in expanding electric vehicle infrastructure and installing community solar panel systems.

“The Cherokee Nation is at the forefront of environmental infrastructure and initiatives thanks to the outstanding professionals within our Environmental Protection Commission and Secretary of Natural Resources Office,” said Cherokee Nation Deputy Chief Bryan Warner. “Wado to Keep Oklahoma Beautiful for honoring our tribe for the important environmental work it does. This award speaks to the impact the Cherokee Nation continues to make in environmental protection and preservation across our 14-county reservation.”

The tribe has completed projects introducing eco-friendly electric buses and solar panel-equipped charging stations in various communities throughout the reservation. Each of the 20 projects is equivalent to removing multiple vehicles from the road, planting more than 10,000 trees and saving hundreds of thousands of pounds of coal.

“Clean energy projects are important to the preservation of our precious natural resources and quality of life for our citizens,” said Warner. “We are constantly working to expand these types of projects across the reservation as we work to meet Principal Chief, Chuck Hoskin Jr.’s goal to reduce our carbon footprint by 25 percent by 2027. We appreciate Keep Oklahoma Beautiful’s recognition of these monumental efforts.”

Each year, Keep Oklahoma Beautiful calls for nominations for environmental awards in several categories. The prestigious awards are presented at the organization’s annual Environmental Excellence Celebration where the best of the environmental best in Oklahoma are honored.