White House Announces Additional Nominations to Interior Leadership

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The White House has announced the intent to nominate the following officials to serve at the Department of the Interior:  

  • Laura Daniel-Davis, Assistant Secretary – Land and Minerals Management
  • Maria Camille Calimlim Touton, Commissioner, Bureau of Reclamation

The nominations will now be considered by the U.S. Senate.

“Laura and Camille are proven leaders whose deep experience and collaborative approaches will help strengthen the Department’s efforts to combat climate change and pursuit of an equitable clean energy future,” said Secretary Deb Haaland. “From helping advance the Administration’s ambitious renewable energy goals to addressing worsening drought conditions in the West, Laura and Camille bring a wealth of knowledge to the Department’s efforts to manage our public lands and waters for the benefit of current and future generations.”

Laura Daniel-Davis has more than two decades of experience in the public and non-profit sectors. She served as Chief of Staff to Interior Secretaries Sally Jewell and Ken Salazar in the Obama administration. Daniel-Davis was most recently the Chief of Policy and Advocacy for the National Wildlife Federation. She was Deputy Chief of Staff to Rep. Mark Udall (D-CO) and also served at Interior in the Clinton Administration in several roles, including as Chief of Staff to the Deputy Secretary.

Maria Camille Calimlim Touton most recently served as Professional Staff for the U.S. House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure. Touton’s congressional experience also includes serving as Professional Staff for Interior’s authorization committees – the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee and the House Natural Resources Committee. She also served as Interior’s Deputy Assistant Secretary for Water and Science under the Obama administration.