Redding Rancheria Introduces Tribal Government

L-R: Tony Hayward; Leon Benner; Hope Wilkes; Nicole Wilkes; Laine Hayward; Jack Potter Jr.; Jason Hayward Sr.; Patty Spaulding; Miranda Edwards; and Michelle Hayward.

REDDING, CA – The Redding Rancheria Tribal Government has announced its Redding Rancheria Tribal Government Officials for 2022-2023. The governing body of the Redding Rancheria is the Tribal Council, which is composed of seven council members and three alternate council members elected by its membership. The four candidates receiving the most votes are elected for a two-year term and the other three candidates are elected for a one-year term. The three alternate positions are elected for one-year terms. The current Council is:

  • Jack Potter Jr. – Tribal Chairperson
  • Michelle Hayward – Vice Chair
  • Patty Spaulding – Secretary
  • Hope Wilkes – Treasurer

Council members are: Jason Hayward Jr.; Miranda Edwards.; and Laine Hayward.

Alternate positions are: Leon Benner – 1st Alternate; Nicole Wilkes – 2nd Alternate; and Tony Hayward Sr. – 3rd Alternate. 

The Redding Rancheria Tribal Council has been delegated broad governing responsibilities and powers and among those are the responsibilities to establish goals, make and enforce laws, and manage the economic affairs of the tribe. The government of the Redding Rancheria exercises, protects and enhances the sovereign right of self-government while promoting a lasting cultural and community identity and traditions for all members of the tribe.

“The Redding Rancheria is proud to have a respectful government-to-government relationship with Shasta County, the City of Redding, and local towns within our county,” said Tracy Edwards, CEO Redding Rancheria Tribal Government.